$500 Yefim Cherkis Memorial Scholarship Fall 2016 – Portfolios due 05/14/2016

Cherkis Announcement

$250 Barbara Stewart Memorial Scholarship – Entries due April 23, 2016

What is the Barbara Stewart Scholarship?
• It is a scholarship established in memory of the late and beloved Barbara Stewart, a City College ESL instructor and photography enthusiast. Each semester a Beginning Photography student is awarded a $250 merit scholarship in her honor.

Who may enter?
• Open to all currently enrolled Photo 51 students.


Jiamin Zen – Barbara Stewart Scholarship recipient Fall ’15

Is there a theme or subject?
• Yes, the theme this semester is Light as Subject.

What may I submit?
• Students may submit one photograph in digital form only.

What are the submission requirements?
• Images should be no less than 1280 pixels on their long side. JPEG format only!

• File names must be in this format: first_lastname_ph51-<section#>.jpg. For example: sally_student_ph51-001.jpg
No spaces or punctuation other than – or _

• Student’s name must be included as Creator in the file metadata and contact information – phone and/or email must also be included in metadata. Submissions without this information will not be considered! Do not know how to do this? Click here: Saving Metadata in Lightroom

How do I submit?
• Files should be uploaded using this link: https://www.dropbox.com/request/pubyo0C8CrGJLG4MQ5sV

• Submissions must be received no later than 9:00 pm on April 23, 2016.

Still have questions?
• Ask your Instructor or a Lab Supervisor for assistance or contact Steven Raskin at sraskin@ccsf.edu

Guest Speaker – Underwater Healer, Erena Shimoda

All are welcome to attend lecture by Underwater Healer, Erena Shimoda.

“For over two years I’ve had the pleasure of working with many amazing cancer survivors as part of my Underwater Healer – About Face campaign. Starting initially with 13 survivors, I raised funds on IndieGoGo to cover the cost of the portrait sessions for the survivors and to this day, all photography sessions are covered at no expense to them. The rest of the campaign money was donated to IHadCancer.com, an online community where survivors, family members and supporters share their stories and connect together. It’s been a profound joy to help cancer survivors celebrate regaining their health and life through underwater portrait shoots.”

10:00 a.m.
April 15th, 2016
Ocean Campus

Health Center, Room 203

This slideshow requires JavaScript.



Solo Exhibition: Heidi Judge “Space Oddity”

Space Oddity

Showcases the use of negative space through black and white film. It demonstrates absence and the notion that it is not necessarily the subject that is important, but the space surrounding.

Black and White Photography by Heidi Judge
On display at Gallery Obscura
April 5 – April 30

Artist Reception: April 7th, 6-8 pm

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Photographer’s Forum 2016 Best of College Photography Contest

Congratulations to CCSF Photography Students: Sara Benitez, Eder Melo for being finalists and Manami Nakamura for being Honorable Mention in Photographers’ Forum’s 36th Annual College & High School Photography Contest!

All Winners, Honorable Mentions and Finalists of Photographer’s Forum’s 36th Annual College & High School Photography Contest are featured in the hardcover book Best of College & High School Photography 2016.

Photographer's Forum


CCSF Photo Alumni – 81 Bees Exhibit

Presented by Mullen Brothers Imaging and the 81 Bees Collective

© Yelena Zhavoronkova

Photographs by the 81 Bees Photography Collective
March 3–April 14, 2016

Opening Reception
Thursday, March 3, 2016
6:00 PM – 8:00 PM
Facebook Event

Mullen Brothers Imaging
2040 Oakdale Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94124

The word minimalism was first used in the english language in the early 20th century to describe a 1913 painting by Kasimir Malevich of a black square on a white background. The term was referring not to what Malevich put into the piece but rather what he left out.
Similarly in other fields in the visual arts, music and architecture, the term has come to represent the concept of stripping everything down to its essential quality, getting rid of what is unnecessary.
This group of works is inspired by these concepts. Each artist has focused their lens on a subject, reducing it down to its essence and by removing the extraneous, creating a sense of clarity.

Anton Bulyonov, Aneta Cherykova, Mary Celojko, Samantha Cooper, Clare Coppel, Kristina Davis, Donna L. Dodd, Beatriz Escobar, Marsha Guggenheim, Avril McHugh, Maja Pilipovic, Bob Nishihira (Nish), Yon Sim, Gordon Szeto, Terri Watters, Yelena Zhavoronkova

Image Credit © Yelena Zhavoronkova

81 Bees on Facebook

Solo Exhibition of Fall 2015 Cherkis Scholarship Recipient – Adrienne Johnson

65 Moments to Wake Up
Photography by Adrienne Johnson

On display at Gallery Obscura
March 1st – March 29th, 2016
Gallery Reception March 22nd, 6-8pm

Before you read further, snap your fingers once.

In the 12th Century, Zen Master Dogen taught in the Shōbōgenzō that each of those moments is an opportunity to wake up and “see” the universe for what it truly is, as well as the length of a moment – “A moment is a very small particle of time.  It is so small that one day is made of 6,400,099,980 moments.”   The snap of the 1/16th of a second shutter, the snap of a finger.

“Did you snap? Because if you did, the snap equals sixty-five moments” writes Ruth Ozeki in “A Tale For The Time Being”.

So here I find myself.  Trying to wake up one sixty-five moment, one shutter click at a time.

-Adrienne Johnson

This slideshow requires JavaScript.





Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,599 other followers